The Current State of Our Nation

This will be a relatively short post, but it’s something I feel passionate about and it’s something I feel I need to share.

I’ve often discussed controversial topics with friends and strangers in comments on Facebook. I always drop out when it becomes a fight, or when the personal insults start flying. I see no reason to fight, as I’d rather have a nice discussion. But there’s a problem with that.

Everyone is so stuck in their opinion that they aren’t willing to listen, or look at the topic from the other side, or, heaven forbid, change! I’m guilty of this, and I’m not saying I’m perfect by any means. But as many people talk about the brink of WWIII with the current presidential candidates, I’m worried about a second Civil War. Our population has become so polarized in our opinions. At this point, if you disagree on anything, it’s nearly impossible to remain friends. No one has respect for another’s opinions. No one has respect for other people in general. And on the Internet, no one seems to have respect for themselves.

We’ve come to a scary place in our nation where there is no happy medium. There can be no happy medium because your political beliefs are such a defining characteristic of your life, so if you’re unsure of something, you’re considered uneducated and ostracized until you pick a side.

But here’s the thing that no one seems to understand: We don’t have to agree on anything to get along.

If you are on my friends list, you are my friend. Even if you’re not on my friends list, I respect you, because you are a fellow human being, and you’re obviously a potential friend! We may not be close, but I respect you. We may life miles apart, but I will be there when you need me. We may argue, but I will remain your friend. We may not agree, but I will never think less of you for your beliefs.

I believe that we are all children of our loving Heavenly Father. I believe that we are all brothers and sisters. I believe that our Heavenly Father loves us all equally and individually. I believe that it causes great sorrow for our Heavenly Father when he sees all of the hate spread between his children. I believe that the hateful words and actions we throw at each other cause more sorrow to our Heavenly Father than the topics that are causing the contention. I believe that we can all get over our differences and love and respect and be civil with each other. I believe that we are capable of making this nation and this world so much better than it is. I believe that you and I can make the change.

You probably don’t agree with me on at least one account. But that’s okay. I promise, I’ll still be your friend.

Leave a Reply

