The New Policies on LDS Baptism

I know a lot of people are really upset with the new information released yesterday by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I was too. I was angry, and I didn’t understand how a church of Christ could say no to children. A million things ran through my mind. “This is a scam. It’s just Anti-Mormon propaganda. This is just someone misunderstanding and blowing it out of proportion.” I couldn’t believe that this was about my church.

But before I jumped to too many conclusions, I did what I’ve been taught to do. I prayed and I pondered. My prayer was quick. I didn’t even realize I was praying until I mentally said Amen. I begged the Lord to let this be a hoax that few people would see. I begged him to help me understand. And I did.

Whether or not you agree with the Church’s stance on gay marriage and relationships, you know they don’t support it. This isn’t new. What I believe people don’t understand, is why the children are being “punished.” One of the core doctrines of this church states, “We believe that men will be punished for their own sins, and not for Adam’s transgression.” The meaning is clear to me. We are accountable for our own actions, not for the actions of others.

What I, along with many others, have failed to see is the actions of children living with homosexual parents. I do not mean for this to sound as though I am condemning these families. I fully acknowledge the love these parents have for their children, as well as their legal right to be families. From the church’s standpoint, however, these children are not growing up in a spiritually enriching environment.

The point of the church officers issuing this statement, is not to exclude anyone from the gospel. It is merely a precaution being taken to protect these children from choices they may make and things they may be exposed to that are not in line with the commandments given to us. They are being protected from being accountable for these things. They are not being barred from attending church meetings and growing their testimony. It is not meant to exclude anyone, rather to help these children stay worthy for all they have been promised.

I also believe that this policy protects kids from stress. If an eight-year-old is baptized into a church that doesn’t support their parents lifestyle, the child is going to be tormented constantly with thoughts of “which way is right?” No child should be forced to deal with such mature, defining matters at that young of an age, as well as the possible ramifications they could face for choosing to be baptized. This is something the church as established before with children of polygamous households or children of Mulsim and communist countries. It is a decision based on their circumstances to rule out negative consequences.

I know many people reading this will not agree with this, and that many will argue against it. My point is not to create contempt, only to explain the revelation that I have received regarding this situation.

Leave a Reply

